Poster Competition

Student Poster Competition

The Catal­y­sis Club of Philadel­phia is very proud of this event and views it as one of the region’s pre­mier oppor­tu­ni­ties for grad­u­ate stu­dents to show­case their work with the local chem­i­cal indus­try pro­fes­sion­als. All grad­u­ate stu­dents whose work is either direct­ly or indi­rect­ly relat­ed to catal­y­sis sci­ence and tech­nol­o­gy are encour­aged to sub­mit entries.

The com­pe­ti­tion is an annu­al event and restrict­ed to grad­u­ate stu­dents only. Post-docs and senior under­grad­u­ates are wel­come to present their posters but are not eli­gi­ble for prizes. A pan­el of indus­tri­al judges will select the five posters from the top 10 par­tic­i­pants. Total prizes award of $550 will be dis­trib­uted between the win­ners, $150 will go to the over­all win­ner and $100 each to the oth­er four top com­peti­tors. The over­all win­ner will be invit­ed to present his or her work at the annu­al Catal­y­sis Club sym­po­sium in May.

Past Winners of the Poster Competition

  • 2005–2006 — Ed Lee, Uni­ver­si­ty of Lehigh
    Con­trol­ling the Mol­e­c­u­lar Struc­ture and Reac­tiv­i­ty of Sup­port­ed Met­al Oxide Cat­alyt­ic Active Sites
    Abstract Not Avail­able
  • 2006–2007 — Eseoghene Jero­ro, Uni­ver­si­ty of Penn­syl­va­nia
    Mech­a­nis­tic Stud­ies of the Steam Reform­ing of Methanol on Pd/ZnO Cat­a­lysts
    Abstract »
  • 2007–2008 — Mosha Zhao, Uni­ver­si­ty of Penn­syl­va­nia
    Polar­iza­tion depen­dence of adsorp­tion on fer­ro­elec­tric BaTiO3 sur­faces
    Abstract »
  • 2008–2009 — Danielle Hans­gen, Uni­ver­si­ty of Delaware
    Com­pu­ta­tion­al and exper­i­men­tal stud­ies of a Ni/Pt bimetal­lic cat­a­lyst for H2 pro­duc­tion from ammo­nia decom­po­si­tion
    Abstract »
  • 2009–2010 — Dustin W. Fick­el, Uni­ver­si­ty of Delaware
    Cop­per Coor­di­na­tion in Cu-SSZ-13 and Cu-SSZ-16 Inves­ti­gat­ed by Vari­able-Tem­per­a­ture XRD
    Abstract »
  • 2010–2011 — Kevin Bakhmut­sky, Uni­ver­si­ty of Penn­syl­va­nia
    The Influ­ence of Cobalt Load­ing on Oxi­da­tion of Sup­port­ed Cat­a­lysts for Fis­ch­er-Trop­sch Syn­the­sis
  • 2011–2012 — Vicky Doan-Nguyen, Uni­ver­si­ty of Penn­syl­va­nia
    Group VIII Met­al Nanocrys­tals for Cat­alyt­ic Ener­gy Con­ver­sion
  • 2012–2013 — Thomas R. Gor­don, Uni­ver­si­ty of Penn­syl­va­nia
    Non­aque­ous Syn­the­sis of TiO2 Nanocrys­tals Using TiF4 to Engi­neer Mor­phol­o­gy, Oxy­gen Vacan­cy Con­cen­tra­tion, and Pho­to­cat­alyt­ic Activ­i­ty
  • 2013–2014 — Jesse R. McManus, Uni­ver­si­ty of Penn­syl­va­nia
    Zn Mod­i­fi­ca­tion of Pt(111) for Hydrodeoxy­gena­tion of Aldos­es
  • 2014–2015 — Bryan Yonemo­to, Uni­ver­si­ty of Delaware
    Syn­the­sis of New Meso­porous Met­al Sul­fides
  • 2015–2016 — Daniel Gre­go­ry, Lehigh Uni­ver­si­ty
    Sta­bi­liza­tion of Metastable Oxides via Sur­face Mod­i­fi­ca­tion
  • 2016–2017 — Mau­ra Koehle, Uni­ver­si­ty of Delaware
    Pro­duc­tion Of para-Methyl­styrene And para-Divinyl­ben­zene From Furan­ic Com­pounds
  • 2017–2018 — Anisha Chakrabar­ti, Lehigh Uni­ver­si­ty
  • 2018–2019 — Natalia Rodriquez Quiroz, Uni­ver­si­ty of Delaware