Tag Archives: CCC

Nicholas Delgass is the Winner of the 2013 Herman Pines Award in Catalysis

The Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go is pleased to announce that Prof. W. Nicholas Del­gass (Max­ine Spencer Nichols Emer­i­tus Pro­fes­sor of Chem­i­cal Engi­neer­ing at Pur­due Uni­ver­si­ty) is the recip­i­ent of the 2013 Her­man Pines Award in Catal­y­sis. This Award is giv­en to rec­og­nize Prof. Del­gass’ out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tions to cat­a­lyst char­ac­ter­i­za­tion, reac­tion and cat­a­lyst chem­istry, and advanced cat­a­lyst design. Prof. Del­gass first intro­duced the appli­ca­tions of Möss­bauer spec­tra and XPS to the catal­y­sis com­mu­ni­ty.

Prof. Del­gass has served on the edi­to­r­i­al boards of lead­ing catal­y­sis jour­nals such as Jour­nal of Catal­y­sis and as chairs for inter­na­tion­al catal­y­sis con­fer­ences. He is a gift­ed teacher, win­ning the Pur­due School of Chem­i­cal Engi­neer­ing Teach­ing Award­ing for sev­en times. Prof. Del­gass has been invit­ed to give more than 190 lec­tures on nation­al and inter­na­tion­al sci­en­tif­ic meet­ings. He has pub­lished over 160 pub­li­ca­tions.

The award includes an hon­o­rar­i­um ($1,000) and a plaque. Prof. Del­gass will receive this Award dur­ing the Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go Spring Sym­po­sium on May 7, 2013 at BP Research Cen­ter (Naperville, IL). Prof. Del­gass will deliv­er the Award address at the Sym­po­sium.
Pre­vi­ous recip­i­ents of the Her­man Pines Award
1999 Harold Kung (North­west­ern Uni­ver­si­ty)
2000 John Mon­nier (East­man Chem­i­cal)
2001 Lan­ny Schmidt (Uni­ver­si­ty of Min­neso­ta)
2002 James Brazdil (BP)
2003 James Dumesic (Uni­ver­si­ty of Wis­con­sin)
2004 Alak Bhat­tacharyya (BP)
2005 Israel Wachs (Lehigh Uni­ver­si­ty)
2006 Jef­frey Miller (BP)
2007 Chun­shan Song (Penn­syl­va­nia State Uni­ver­si­ty)
2008 Alek­sey Yez­erets (Cum­mins)
2009 Tobin Marks (North­west­ern Uni­ver­si­ty)
2010 James Rekoske (UOP)
2011 Jing­guang Chen (Uni­ver­si­ty Delaware)
2012 Stu­art Soled (Exxon­Mo­bil)

Herman Pines Award in Catalysis

Spon­sored by UOP and the Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go

The Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go is solic­it­ing nom­i­na­tions for the Her­man Pines Award for out­stand­ing research in the field of catal­y­sis. Her­man Pines was an out­stand­ing research sci­en­tist, and his work rev­o­lu­tion­ized the gen­er­al under­stand­ing of organ­ic chem­istry, par­tic­u­lar­ly the chem­istry of hydro­car­bons inter­act­ing with strong acids. The Award in his hon­or is co-spon­sored by UOP, where Her­man Pines began his indus­tri­al career in 1930 and amassed 145 US patents, and by the Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go of which Her­man Pines was a found­ing mem­ber.

The Award will be pre­sent­ed at the 2012 Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go Spring Sym­po­sium and con­sists of a plaque, a cash award of $1,000 and reim­burse­ment for trav­el and lodg­ing as a ple­nary speak­er at the Spring Sym­po­sium.

The nom­i­nee must meet the fol­low­ing cri­te­ria:

  • Great achieve­ments of catal­y­sis research in the past five years
  • For year 2012, the award will be giv­en to an Indus­tri­al researcher
  • Active mem­ber in catal­y­sis com­mu­ni­ty
  • A res­i­dent of North Amer­i­ca

Dead­line for nom­i­na­tion is Feb­ru­ary 29, 2012. Nom­i­na­tion should describe the spe­cif­ic work for which the nom­i­nee should be rec­og­nized. Com­plete cur­ricu­lum vitae with let­ters of sup­port for the nom­i­nee must be includ­ed in the nom­i­na­tion, togeth­er with the descrip­tion of work.

Let­ters of nom­i­na­tion and sup­port­ing doc­u­men­ta­tion must be sent by Feb­ru­ary 29, 2012 as a sin­gle PDF doc­u­ment to:
Feng Xu
Pres­i­dent – The Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go (2011–2012)
UOP LLC, A Hon­ey­well Com­pa­ny
Des Plaines, IL 60017

List of past award recipients of the Herman Pines Award:

  • 1999 Prof. Harold Kung – North­west­ern Uni­ver­si­ty
  • 2000 Dr. John Mon­nier – East­man Chem­i­cal Com­pa­ny
  • 2001 Prof. Lan­ny Schmidt – Uni­ver­si­ty of Min­neso­ta
  • 2002 Dr. James Brazdil – BP
  • 2003 Prof. James Dumesic – Uni­ver­si­ty of Wis­con­sin
  • 2004 Dr. Alak Bhat­tacharyya – BP
  • 2005 Prof. Israel Wachs – Lehigh Uni­ver­si­ty
  • 2006 Dr. Jeff Miller – BP
  • 2007 Prof. Chun­shan Song – Penn­syl­va­nia State Uni­ver­si­ty
  • 2008 Dr. Alek­sey Yez­erets – Cum­mins Inc.
  • 2009 Prof. Tobin Marks – North­west­ern Uni­ver­si­ty
  • 2010 Dr. James Rekoske – UOP
  • 2011 Prof. Jing­guang Chen – Uni­ver­si­ty of Delaware

Prof. Jingguang Chen is the recipient of the 2011 Herman Pines Award in Catalysis

Prof. Jing­guang Chen (Claire D. LeClaire Pro­fes­sor at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Delaware) is the recip­i­ent of Catal­y­sis Club of Chicago’s 2011 Her­man Pines Award. The Award is pre­sent­ed annu­al­ly to rec­og­nize an indi­vid­ual who has made sig­nif­i­cant con­tri­bu­tion to catal­y­sis in either fun­da­men­tal research or indus­tri­al process­es. The award includes a plaque, an hon­o­rar­i­um of $1000 and trav­el reim­burse­ment as a ple­nary speak­er at 2011 Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go Spring Sym­po­sium. The award will be pre­sent­ed dur­ing the sym­po­sium at BP Research Cen­ter (Naperville, IL) on May 19, 2011.

Pro­fes­sor Jing­guang Chen is a world leader in sur­face sci­ence stud­ies of car­bide and bimetal­lic cat­a­lysts and their indus­tri­al appli­ca­tions. He has made great leaps toward clos­ing the long stand­ing, well-known mate­ri­als and pres­sure gaps in het­ero­ge­neous catal­y­sis that are essen­tial to con­vert fun­da­men­tal sur­face sci­ence stud­ies into indus­tri­al prac­tice. This has been achieved by a unique com­bi­na­tion of sur­face sci­ence, the­o­ret­i­cal mod­el­ing, catal­y­sis and in-situ reac­tor stud­ies lead­ing to the devel­op­ment of nov­el con­cepts and cat­alyt­ic mate­ri­als for a wide range of chem­i­cal reac­tions. In par­al­lel, Prof. Chen has excelled in a vari­ety of lead­er­ship roles to advance sur­face sci­ence and catal­y­sis. He has pub­lished over 200 papers in var­i­ous catal­y­sis and sur­face sci­ence jour­nals and writ­ten crit­i­cal reviews for sev­er­al lead­ing review jour­nals, includ­ing Chem­i­cal Reviews and Sur­face Sci­ence Reports. He is the inven­tor or co-inven­tor of 16 Unit­ed States Patents. As an indi­ca­tion of his high vis­i­bil­i­ty, he has giv­en over two hun­dred invit­ed and keynote lec­tures.