Call for 2012 IACS Award Nominations

IACS will present two awards at the 15th ICC in Munich – the ICC Award and the Heinz Heinemann Award. Please note that the deadline for nominations is January 15, 2012. All nominations should be submitted to the Secretary of the IACS by email to the following address: The recipients of these awards will be selected by the IACS Awards Committee, and it is planned to inform the recipients by March 15, 2012. Both recipients will be invited to present a plenary presentation at the ICC in Munich.

International Catalysis Award The International Catalysis Award will be given to recognise and encourage individual contributions by a young person in the field of catalysis, such as the discovery of the significant improvement of a catalytic process, or an important contribution to the understanding of catalytic phenomena. The recipient must not have passed her/his 45th birthday by May 1 of the award year. The Award consists of a plaque and a check for $5,000.

Heinz Heinemann Award in Catalyst Science and Technology The Heinz Heinemann Award in Catalysis will be given to an individual or a group for significant contributions to catalyst science and technology achieved between January 1, 2007, and December 31, 2011. The Award consists of a plaque and a check for $5,000.

Nomination Procedure Nomination of the award should be made before January 15 in the year of an International Congress on Catalysis (i.e. January 15, 2012, for the awards made at the 15th ICC), and should include a critical evaluation of the significance of the nominee’s published work, as well as a statement about the particular contribution on which the nomination is based. Nominations should also include the nominee’s qualifications, accomplishments and biography. Nomination documents, along with no more than four letters of support, should be submitted electronically as a single PDF file to the Secretary of the International Association of Catalysis Societies ( recipient will be required to give a lecture on her/his research as part of the International Congress on Catalysis at which the award is conferred (i.e. 15th ICC, July 1-6, 2012 in Munich, Germany).

Selection of Award Recipients Selection of the award recipients will be made by an International Committee composed of renowned scientists or engineers. This Committee will be appointed by the President of the International Association of Catalysis Societies, subsequent to proposals from the Executive Committee of the International Association of Catalysis Societies. Posthumous awards will be made only when knowledge of the winner’s death is received after the announcement of the International Committee’s decision.