Prof. Dion Vlachos is the Winner of the 2016 Catalysis Club of Philadelphia Award

Dion VlachosThe Catal­y­sis Club of Philadel­phia is pleased to announce Prof. Dion Vla­chos as the recip­i­ent of the 2016 Catal­y­sis Club of Philadel­phia Award, in recog­ni­tion of his long-stand­ing cre­ative tech­ni­cal con­tri­bu­tions, both the­o­ret­i­cal and exper­i­men­tal; advanc­ing the under­stand­ing of the mol­e­c­u­lar basis of het­ero­ge­neous catal­y­sis of com­plex sys­tems; and his lead­er­ship role at the Catal­y­sis Cen­ter for Ener­gy Inno­va­tion and Cen­ter for Cat­alyt­ic Sci­ence and Tech­nol­o­gy.

Prof. Vla­chos received his PhD form the Chem­i­cal Engi­neer­ing and Mate­ri­als Sci­ence Depart­ment, Uni­ver­si­ty of Min­neso­ta, where he stud­ied the struc­tures and dynam­ics of adsorbed phas­es and crys­tal sur­faces. He joined the Chem­i­cal Engi­neer­ing Depart­ment at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Mass­a­chu­setts in 1993 as an Assis­tant Pro­fes­sor and in 1998 became an Asso­ciate Pro­fes­sor at the depart­ment. In 2000, Dion joined the Depart­ment of Engi­neer­ing at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Delaware, where he cur­rent­ly holds a posi­tion as Eliz­a­beth Inez Kel­ley Pro­fes­sor of Chem­i­cal Engi­neer­ing.

Dion has pio­neered the work on devel­op­ment of mul­ti-scale mod­el­ing and apply­ing this approach to tech­no­log­i­cal­ly impor­tant prob­lems in ener­gy, catal­y­sis, bio­mass con­ver­sion, nan­otech­nol­o­gy and cel­lu­lar engi­neer­ing. His research has been adopt­ed by chem­i­cal indus­try in com­pa­nies, such as Cono­coPhillips, Prax­air, and Rohm and Haas, for chem­i­cal process­es design and emis­sions reduc­tion.

Dion’s research of bio­mass con­ver­sion, specif­i­cal­ly cat­alyt­ic trans­for­ma­tion of sug­ars into fuels and chem­i­cals, helped to advance the under­stand­ing of sug­ar chem­istry. His work on the elu­ci­da­tion of active species in HCl/CrCl3 involved in sug­ar trans­for­ma­tions result­ed in a high impact pub­li­ca­tion with a record num­ber of cita­tions. His the­o­ret­i­cal study of Sn-Beta cat­a­lyst for glu­cose iso­mer­iza­tion has found the active form of tin in the zeo­lite and revealed the impor­tance of neigh­bor­ing silanol groups for the selec­tiv­i­ty of the iso­mer­iza­tion reac­tion. Dion’s the­o­ret­i­cal work was lat­er con­firmed exper­i­men­tal­ly by Davis group in Cal­tech.

As the founder and direc­tor of the Catal­y­sis Cen­ter for Ener­gy Inno­va­tion (CCEI), Dion has shown an out­stand­ing lead­er­ship and obtained $29.5M in fund­ing over nine years. Through CCEI, he helped to nur­ture col­lab­o­ra­tions between research groups from lead­ing aca­d­e­m­ic insti­tu­tions. CCEI focus­es on the devel­op­ment of new catal­y­sis and process­es for bio­mass con­ver­sion to fuel and chem­i­cals.

Dion has pub­lished over 340 sci­en­tif­ic papers, which col­lec­tive­ly have over 9400 cita­tions. In the past few years, he has been pub­lish­ing over 30 research papers per year, which makes Dion one of the most pro­duc­tive catal­y­sis researchers.

Please join us in con­grat­u­lat­ing Dion on receiv­ing the 2016 Catal­y­sis Club of Philadel­phia award.

Past Recipients of the Award

1968 Adal­bert Farkas
1969 Charles J. Plank
1970 Paul H. Emmett
1971 G. Alex Mills
1972 Alfred E. Hirschler
1973 Paul B. Weisz
1974 Roland C. Hans­ford
1975 Paul Venu­to
1976 Heinz Heine­mann
1977 G.C.A. Schuit
1978 George W. Par­shall
1979 Alvin B. Stiles
1980 Abra­ham Schnei­der
1981 James F. Roth
1982 Robert Eis­chens
1983 Edward Rosin­s­ki
1984 James R. Katzer
1985 N.Y. Chen
1986 Bruce C. Gates
1987 James E. Lyons
1988 George Koko­tai­lo
1989 Mau­rice Mitchell, Jr.
1990 Wern­er O. Haag
1991 John A. Sofranko
1992 Fran Waller
1993 George Kerr
1994 Theodore A. Koch
1995 John N. Armor
1996 Mae Rubin
1997 Leo E. Manz­er
1998 Ray Gorte
1999 Anne M. Gaffney
2000 Hen­ry C. Foley
2001 Mark Barteau
2002 Steven D. Ittel
2003 Frank E. Herkes
2004 Jing­guang Chen
2005 Israel Wachs
2006 James Dumesic
2007 John Vohs
2008 David Olson
2009 Ted Oya­ma
2010 Chuck Coe
2011 Chun­shan Song
2012 Ros­tam Madon
2013 Daniel Resas­co
2014 Haiy­ing Chen
2015 Sourav Sen­gup­ta
2016 Dion Vla­chos
2017 Thomas Cola­cot
2018 Car­mo Pereira